Gil Martin: Smaller Works, an exhibition

Community Center's Sierra Room
851 East William Street
Carson City, Nevada
Repeats every week until Thu Jul 06 2017 .
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Wednesday, July 5, 2017

The Capital City Arts Initiative [CCAI] presents its exhibition, Smaller Works, by artist Gil Martin. The exhibit will be in the gallery from March 1 - July 6, 2017.

Martin said that when he was first studying painting, an artist friend gave him a box of art materials and assorted tools that she no longer needed. In that box was a book on how to make paint from earth pigments. It sat around his studio for years until one day he picked it up and started reading. His interest piqued, he started driving around looking for colored dirt from road cuts.

For over 20 years he has made his own paint from natural earth pigments that he digs up from various sources in the western United States. He uses a starch paste made from corn meal as a binder and adds water to create a more or less viscous paint.

Chérie Louise Turner wrote the essay, Plain Ole Dirt? for Martin’s exhibition, and it may be viewed on the Capital City Arts Initiative's website.

The Sierra Room is open to the public every Friday noon – 4pm, during the City’s official public meetings, and most weeknights Monday – Thursday, 5pm – 8pm. For Sierra Room access, call 775.283.7421 or check meeting schedules online at www.carson.org/government/meetings-and-events

This exhibition and the essay for the exhibition were funded in part by Nevada Humanities, Nevada's nonprofit state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.